GILUPI CellCollector
home CellCollector about gilupi news contact
german version
Circulating tumor cells
Gilupi method
Practice and clinical validation
Special features
References
Interested
The GILUPI method: a revolutionary in vivo technology

1

Existing methods – in vitro   A revolutionary in vivo technology
ex vivo cellcollector gilupi

Current diagnostic approaches for the extraction of CTCs are in vitro methods with the inherent barrier of the small blood sample they depend on.
  in vivo cellcollector gilupi

The operating principle of the GILUPI CellCollector® is based on its innovative and patented design:

16 cm medical stainless steel wire (diameter 0,5 mm)
1 Rounded tip with 2 cm long layer of pure gold (carrier of a three-dimensional polymer functionalized layer) First Product generation Detector CANCER01
1 Functionalization through specific antibodies against cell surface antigens
(e.g. anti-EpCAM antibodies)

The GILUPI method overcomes the restrictions of a limited blood sample. While most diagnostic approaches today focus on maximizing the efficient exploitation of a blood sample, the GILUPI CellCollector® is designed to collect the targeted cells in vivo from the peripheral blood stream.

For more information (LINK)

During its 30 min in vivo application in a cubital arm vein, the GILUPI CellCollector® comes into contact with a large volume of the patient’s total blood volume. This is a significantly higher quantity of blood than found in blood samples using in vitro methods. Even at low concentrations of CTCs in the blood, the approach of the GILUPI CellCollector® increases the chances of isolating tumor cells – higher efficiency of CTC isolation.

2

1


The GILUPI CellCollector® is more specific and more efficient in the detection of EpCAM-positive CTCs than other existing in vitro methods. The EpCAM-positive tumor cells bind to anti-EpCAM-antibodies which are covalently attached to the GILUPI CellCollector® in vivo in the blood stream of a patient. The functionalized surface prevents the unspecific binding of other blood constituents – higher specificity of CTC isolation.

1

The GILUPI CellCollector® is available in two different product versions, Detektor CANCER01 (DC01) recommended for CTC enumeration and Detektor CANCER02 (DC02) recommended for further downstream analysis methods. Both products consist of a stainless steel wire, which has a functionalized surface at one end (gold and hydrogel coating with incorporated anti-EpCAM antibodies). The first generation product DC01 has a smooth, 2 cm long functionalized tip. The next generation product DC02 has a longer, 4 cm functionalized tip which consists of three thin twisted stainless steel wires for improved haemodynamic characteristics.


1
1
1st in vivo CTC isolation CE approval worldwide >>
1
Application possible in all cancer indications, clinical results available for prostate, lung, breast and colorectal cancer >>
1
Proven safety and functionality >>
1
70% CTC detection rate >>
1
CTC detection in all cancer stages >>
GILUPI presentations of clinical results at the following meetings & exhibitions:
DGU (Dresden)
ECCO (Amsterdam)
EAU (Stockholm)
ACTC (Athens)
ISMRC (Paris)
ASCO (Chicago)
EBCC (Vienna)
ELCC (Geneva)
DKK (Berlin)
MEDICA (Düsseldorf)

GILUPI CellCollector
home CellCollector about gilupi news contact
english version
Circulating tumor cells
Gilupi method
Practice and clinical validation
Special features
References
Interested
Die GILUPI Methode: eine revolutionäre in vivo-Technologie

1

bisherige in vitro - Methoden   Die revolutionäre in vivo
-Technologie

ex vivo cellcollector gilupi

Sämtliche bisherige diagnostische Verfahren zur Gewinnung und Analyse von CTCs sind in vitro - Methoden, die durch ein limitiertes Probenvolumen eingeschränkt sind.

 

in vivo cellcollector gilupi

Das Funktionsprinzip des GILUPI CellCollector® beruht auf seinem innovativen und patentierten Aufbau:

16 cm langer, medizinischer Edelstahldraht (Durchmesser 0,5 mm)
1 abgerundete Spitze mit 2 cm langer Goldbeschichtung (Träger einer dreidimensionalen, funktionalisierten Polymerschicht)(1. Produktgeneration)
1 Funktionalisierung der Oberfläche mit kovalent gebundenen, spezifischen Antikörpern gegen zelluläre Oberflächenproteine (z.B. anti- „epithelial cell adhesion molecule“ [EpCAM])

Die GILUPI – Methodik überwindet die Einschränkungen, die durch ein limitiertes Blutvolumen auftreten können. Während sich die meisten bisherigen Verfahren auf die Maximierung der effizienten Verwertung einer Blutprobe fokussieren, ist der GILUPI CellCollector® in der Lage, die Zielzellen direkt in vivo aus dem Blutkreislauf der Patienten zu „fischen“.

Mehr Informationen (LINK)

Während der 30-minütigen in vivo Anwendung in der Kubitalvene der Armbeuge kommt der GILUPI CellCollector® mit einem großen Teil des gesamten Blutvolumens des Patienten in Kontakt. Dies ist deutlich mehr als bei einer üblichen Blutentnahme (in vitro – Methoden). Mit dem GILUPI CellCollector® steigt also die Chance, dass Tumorzellen, auch bei geringer Konzentration im Blut, isoliert werden können. Daraus folgt eine höhere Effizienz bei der Isolierung von zirkulierenden Tumorzellen.



1


Der GILUPI CellCollector® bietet eine spezifischere und effektivere Nachweismethode von EpCAM-positiven CTCs im Vergleich zu bereits bestehenden Verfahren. Die EpCAM - positiven Tumorzellen binden in vivo, also direkt im Blutkreislauf des Patienten, an die kovalent gebundenen anti-EpCAM-Antikörper auf dem GILUPI CellCollector® (Antigen-Antikörper-Komplex). Eine unspezifische Bindung von Blutbestandteilen wird dabei durch die funktionalisierte Oberfläche verhindert. Daraus folgt eine gesteigerte Spezifität bei der Isolierung von zirkulierenden Tumorzellen.



1

Der GILUPI CellCollector® ist in zwei Produktversionen erhältlich. Detektor CANCER01 (DC01) empfohlen für quantitative CTC-Detektion und Detektor CANCER02 (DC02) empfohlen für weitere nachgeschaltete Analysemethoden. Beide Produkte bestehen aus einem Edelstahldraht, mit einer funktionalisierten Oberfläche an einem Ende (Goldschicht und Hydrogel, in dem gegen zelluläre Oberflächenproteine [„epithelial cell adhesion molecule“ EpCAM] gerichtete Antikörper eingelagert sind). Die erste Produktgeneration DC01 hat eine glatte, 2 cm lange funktionalisierte Oberfläche. Die zweite Produktgeneration DC02 hat eine 4 cm lange, aus drei in sich gedrehten Edelstahldrähten bestehende, funktionalisierte Oberfläche für eine bessere hämodynamische Wirkung.


1
1
weltweit erste CE - Zulassung für die in vivo - Isolation von CTCs >>
1
Anwendung theoretisch in allen Krebsindikationen mit epithelialen Ursprung möglich, klinische Ergebnisse vorhanden für Prostata-, Lungen-, Brust- und Darmkrebs >>
1
erwiesene Sicherheit & Funktionalität >>
1
70% CTC-Detektionsrate >>
1
Detektion von CTCs in allen Krebsstadien >>
GILUPI präsentierte klinische Ergebnisse auf folgenden Kongressen & Messen:
EBCC (Glasgow)
ELCC (Genf)
AACR (San Diego)
DGU (Dresden)
DKK (Berlin)
DGP (Bremen)
ECCO (Amsterdam)
EAU (Stockholm)
ACTC (Athen)
ISMRC (Paris)
ASCO (Chicago)